RSS Feed

The Haul: And… We’re Back Edition

I don’t need to tell you how excited I was for the beginning of this year’s Easton farmer’s market. Sure, we had a mild winter. And, yes, with Easton Market Square being open year-round, there’s more options for fresh, local produce during the colder months. But there’s just something about the atmosphere and getting to see everyone (and all the dogs people bring), that you miss during the off-season. I don’t know half the vendors’ names, but we all talk every week and it was fun to catch up after not seeing them since December.

So, here’s what I bought today. From the open-air market:

  • Local wildflower honey
  • 1 lb. ground bison
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Organic arugula
  • Organic carrots
  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Belgian sugar waffle (breakfast, a part of which is pictured below)

Remnants of the Belgian waffle that somehow survived until I got home.

From the Amish market:

  • Lemonade
  • Organic milk
  • Strawberries! (local, from a greenhouse)
  • Wheat sandwich rolls
  • Whoopie pie (I simply can’t resist these sometimes)

Update from the kitchen: I made a Honey Peach and Blackberry Cobbler to bring to a dinner tonight. Will write a more detailed post if it turned out well…

Update from the garden: Most of my tomato seeds have sprouted and there was a parsnip plant peeking out this morning. Also, two over-achieving lavender seeds have sprouted. Everyone’s hanging out in the sun on the front porch this weekend since it’s supposed to be nice and sunny and warm. Hope the runty plants take advantage of it! I’ll start some echinacea seeds tomorrow.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a comment