RSS Feed

Wishing You a Bountiful New Year

Happy New Year, Freezer Fulligans! It’s been a while since I posted. That’s because I’ve been too busy eating and drinking thanks to my wonderful friends and family. Instead of posting a traditional haul post this week, here is just some of the loot I have been feasting on since Christmas:

  • An entire gluten-free, vegan apple raspberry pie
  • An entire wheel of brie (enjoyed on gluten-free crackers)
  • Two bottles of organic wine (one red, one white)
  • Organic pale ale
  • Hard cider
  • Still more beer (an entire grocery bag full of different selections, plus prosecco; I love my family)
  • A Dogfish Head Brewery gift certificate with which to buy even more beer at a later date
  • Many, many bars of various flavors of chocolate, plus a couple of truffles that didn’t last very long
  • Gluten-free spinach pasta
  • Something called grill honey, meant to brush over grilled meats — I can’t wait to try this
  • Fruit
  • Double chocolate peanut butter
  • Penzey’s spice blends
  • Plus still more items!

I also received an Amazon gift card, which I put toward some kitchen utensils.

I’ve had my work cut out for me, eating through all of this food, and it’s going to be a big job to work it off. It’s worth it though. Fortunately, I’ve had some healthy stuff too. This is what my fridge looked like shortly before Xmas, thanks to a local church’s fruit sale:

fridge

The citrus fruit is so good. I dried the apples and pears. I’ve also been working through a lot of greens from the farm share that I participate in.

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday, whichever one(s) you celebrate, and that you have a terrific 2013!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. What brand of crackers did you use? How did you like them? I have been considering drastically lowering my gluten intake, but I love Triscuits and Finn Crisps.

    Reply
    • Hi Katherine! I don’t recall the brand, but they were very light, crispy rice crackers. If I see them again, I’ll try to make a note of the brand. They were given to me at Thanksgiving — I’m not sure who sells them…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

