RSS Feed

Green, Eggs and Ham

Sans Parm. Forgot to add the cheese before I took the pic. Oopsies.

For lunch today, I wanted to use more of the asparagus and prosciutto I bought yesterday. As I often do when I’m searching for a recipe for a specific ingredient, I headed to CookingLight.com.* I typed in ‘prosciutto’ and narrowed the results to breakfast items — I wanted to incorporate eggs into the recipe too and figured that would net me the right type of recipes.

I ended up inspired by this recipe to create the below:

Green, Eggs & Ham
(serves one; do the math to serve more)

2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon basil-Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp milk
Salt and pepper

1 slice prosciutto

6-8 spears asparagus (already blanched)

Parmesan cheese

Combine the first four ingredients and whisk well. Pour into a medium-hot small pan and stir often.

Microwave the asparagus 20-30 seconds to reheat. Lay the prosciutto on top. When cooked, spoon the eggs over the prosciutto. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese (not pictured; oops). Serve with a fresh, locally grown carrot (optional).

The mustard tasted sooooo good in the eggs. Originally, I was going to serve this over toasted sourdough bread, but found that had gone moldy. Then, I was going to make this into a wrap, but my tortillas had gone bad too. Oh well. I’ll load up on carbs at dinner.

In case you’re wondering, my eggs came from CD Produce (at Easton’s open-air farmer’s market) in Cordova, Md., and they actually sell green eggs, which come from a particular breed of chicken. These are not those eggs, but the farmer assures me the green eggs look and taste just like regular eggs once you crack them open.

The carrot came from Provident Farm.

*Disclaimer: I am an avid subscriber to Cooking Light, but that is all. I don’t receive anything in return for promoting them here.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful colors on a very familiar plate 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

