RSS Feed

Night Off from Cooking

I went to the dentist today (no cavities!) and I went to the gym and worked harder than usual after last night’s indulgence. So what did I do to reward myself for all of this good behavior? Took myself out to dinner, of course!

The view from my table on the front porch.

The other day, I passed the Bartlett Pear Inn on the way home from town. The owners (who are friends of mine) and I spied each other through the bar window and waved. I couldn’t stop to say hello that day, but decided to drop in tonight. Also? Monday is half-price sandwich night!

The food at the Bartlett Pear Inn is always good and the combinations are quite creative. Bonus points to Chef Jordan for using a lot of locally produced ingredients in his dishes.

I ended up selecting the Lobster (!) Croque Monsieur and their amazing Inn-Made Fries* for my dinner from their bar menu. Heavenly. I didn’t want to completely undo my work at the gym, so I saved half the sandwich and half the fries** for dinner tomorrow night.

* I know the secret to what makes their fries taste so spectacular, but I won’t divulge it here.

** Never, but never, reheat fries in a microwave. Reheat them on a foil lined tray in a toaster oven.

Sorry, no way was I waiting to take a photo before digging into this!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

