RSS Feed

In for a Penny, In for a Pound

Well, I bought a composter! It was a pain in the neck to put together too — the little wrench that came with it was a joke. I’ve already filled it with a bit of potting soil, and kitchen scraps from yesterday. I’m learning a lot about how composting works, like the need for the right mix of brown material (dried leaves and similar) to green material (kitchen scraps, grass clippings, etc.).

Incidentally, I happened upon this interesting list of things you can compost. I definitely will not be incorporating everything on this list (some of the bathroom items are just ewww), but it is pretty neat what all can be composted!

One of the first beneficiaries of the compost, the first batch of which should be ready in about a month, will be my fledgling container garden. I bought and potted basil, parsley and thyme yesterday. I hope to expand this in the weeks to come.

And for those who may be wondering, yes, both the composter and the herbs will receive quite a bit of sun throughout the day, despite the shade they were in when these photos were taken.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. That’s a complicated looking composter! We used to use one (but now all our table scraps go to our animals – chickens and pigs mostly) but it was so much simpler.

    It was a green squarish container that sat on the ground. You dumped your scraps in the top through the removable lid. The bottom had a lift-up “thingey” that flipped up, enabling you to dig out the good bits you wanted for the garden.

    Re herbs, that is so much fun. I’ve been growing and drying herbs for over 15 years and I love it. This year I’m expanding to most of my back deck since I can’t crouch or kneel or bend to do gardening at ground level anymore. So my herbs are going on to shelves in window boxes. I tried it last year and it worked great so this yaer I”m adding several to my staples of sage, thyme, basil and parsley. I’m hoping to find rosemary, oregano and a few others.

    Good luck with your efforts, I’m sure you’re going to create some amazing food from all your home-grown goodies!

    If you want, you can check out the one blog post I did on preserving herbs over the winter. It’s at http://olliesyummyinyourtummy.blogspot.com/2010/08/preserving-herbs-for-winter-use.html

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Thanks, Lorine! I nearly bought the type of composter to which you’re referring, but read that it was easier to turn the material in the barrel kind, incorporating more air. If the type I bought doesn’t work out though, I may try the square kind next. Good luck with your gardening! I’ll check out your post.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

