RSS Feed

Saturday Finds

There are drawbacks to relying on farmer’s markets as your main source of food. My Saturdays usually revolve around shopping for and cooking food. Our open-air farmer’s market is only open on Saturday mornings and that’s also usually the only time I can get to the Amish market and the seafood market. If I don’t get to the markets on Saturday morning, I don’t get fresh food for that week. So even on mornings like today’s, when I’m tired and not feeling well, I still need to get out there and shop.

The benefits of shopping this way far outweigh the drawbacks, however. One of the benefits of participating in a CSA is that you get to try food you probably wouldn’t bother to buy if it were left up to you. I am not participating in a CSA this year, but don’t want to miss out on that benefit. Today, I decided to try a vegetable that I’ve never cooked for myself before: rainbow chard.

I picked up scallops at the fish market as well and decided to pair the two for dinner tonight. I found relatively simple recipes to prepare each one. Here was the result:

I have had chard at restaurants before, but usually not all on its own. I find the flavor to be a little too strong for my liking, so I’ll probably incorporate the leftovers into a pasta dish or something. I hope that will tone down the flavor a bit.

And no, I didn’t eat all of those scallops in one sitting. I wanted to though.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

