RSS Feed

The Week in Food News

Wow, what a crazy (but fun) week I had! I had no time to cook, let alone post. I did try to save some interesting links that I found though:

Why Buy Local? — this infographic demonstrates the problems with the current consumer system through its impact on the environment and the economy. It says that the average carrot travels more than 1,800 miles to become part of a meal in the U.S. Not mine. Mine come from less than 100 miles away because I buy them at the local farmer’s market. (Via www.foodandtechconnect.com)

Farmers are embracing social media. This is great news. Before I started buying from almost every local farm that now supplies my food, I connected with them first on the Internet. (Via rootsofchange.org)

Think it’s more expensive to shop at a farmer’s market? Think again. (Via rootsofchange.org)

Calorie bombs in/near Baltimore. (Baltimore Sun)

Small yard? Learn about square-foot gardening. (College Park Patch)

Grilled peanut butter and banana split sandwich. You’re welcome. (Cooking Light)

A cookbook to help you deal with all of those new-to-you foods in  your farmshare. (LocalHarvest.org)

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

