RSS Feed

A Stock of Stock

Before I bought the composter, I was freezing the ends off of carrots, celery leaves, leek trimmings, etc., with the intention of making stock. Yesterday, I finally threw all of the above along with some fresh carrots, onions and celery into a stock pot to sweat, using a recipe from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook as my guide.

That mixture was then transferred to my slow cooker with the addition of some herbs, spices and a whole lot of water. The result: more than 70 ounces of stock and a house that smelled divine.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. This looks awesome! I’m tempted to try the same thing myself, though I ended up using celery leaves in my soup today. Did you just use the ends from carrots, celery, and leeks, or did you also use peels?

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      I didn’t really have peels to add. I typically don’t peel the carrots I buy — I just scrub them really well. They’re often so small, I hate to waste any bits of them. I did read that adding onion skin to a stock can make it bitter, so I didn’t add onion skins.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

