RSS Feed

Give Us This Day Our Daily Muffin (Or Two)

Another Sunday, another muffin recipe. I’d been eying the recipe for Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Muffins ever since I got last month’s issue of Cooking Light (which also had last week’s recipe for Chai Tea Muffins). The only substitution that I made this time was to replace the red wine vinegar with this:

When I went to our local Italian market to buy red wine vinegar for this recipe, I asked about the bottle next to it, which appeared to be some sort of chocolate vinegar. They happened to have an open bottle behind the counter and let me try some (and then they let me try buffalo milk butter — omg!). Both were quite good. You can kind of tell from the picture above that the vincotto’s pretty thick,  like balsamic. The ingredients are simply grape must and cocoa. I figured it would be way better than red wine vinegar in this recipe for chocolate muffins.

The result was quite good (even though I almost forgot to add the cocoa powder!).

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Those look delicious! I am definitely going to try this recipe. I have some balsamic sauce that I might use in place of the red wine vinegar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

