RSS Feed

Oatmeal*: Most Likely, You’re Doing it Wrong

One of the most influential pieces of food writing that I’ve read this year was this article on oatmeal by Mark Bittman. I had always loved the idea of oatmeal. It sounds so wholesome. But I couldn’t stand the texture of hot oatmeal. Just about the only way I could eat oatmeal, until recently, was in granola or cookie form.

I never even considered that you could just pour cold milk over plain oats (not that pre-packaged powdery stuff; I do find this works better with “quick oats” versus rolled oats), add your topping of choice, and call it breakfast. But that’s what I’ve done almost every morning since reading the above article. I urge anyone who relies on those powdery packets or fast-food chains for their oatmeal to read it too.

*Not to be confused with The Oatmeal, which gets it right every single time, hilariously.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

4 responses »

  1. I read that Bittman article and wondered if it actually worked, all cold and whatnot. I’ll have to give it a try!

    Love this new blog! I wish I had your dedication to local eating.

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Thanks, Erin! I was skeptical at first, but I love it! If I don’t have berries around, I stir in some maple syrup.

      Reply
  2. I loved that Bittman piece too and wasn’t surprised to see that McD’s got it wrong, again. Good for you, eating cold oatmeal. Do you also dislike the texture of hot steel cut oats?

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      I tried them once and really, really wanted to like them, but there’s just something about the texture that I can’t stand!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

