RSS Feed

When Life Gives You Wilted Arugula…

… make arugula pesto! And then spread it on bread already spread with goat cheese. And then top with smoked salmon.

Yes, very reminiscent of my farmer’s market lunch yesterday, except all grown up with the peppery pesto and a glass of crisp, chilled white wine.

Not bad after discovering very sad, wilted arugula hanging out in my fridge this morning. I abandoned the oatmeal I was in the midst of prepping and instead, threw the arugula into a sink full of cold water. I dug out a rind of Parm, a garlic clove and some olive oil, and then retrieved my food processor from the depths of an overhead cabinet.

After thoroughly drying the arugula, which already was starting to perk up, I pulsed it in the food processor. Tossed in the garlic, pulsed. Changed out the blade for the shredding blade. Tossed in the Parm and shredded it. Switched out the blades again and drizzled in the olive oil, pulsing until the consistency looked right. Then I froze it in ice cube trays.

No, I didn’t include nuts — it was 8:30 in the morning for cripes sake. I suppose I could have added some of the pecans hanging out in my freezer. Ah well.

I thawed one of the cubes in the microwave for tonight’s open-face sandwich. My wine of choice (click to enlarge the pic):

I don’t normally crave white wine, except this hot and muggy time of year, when something light and chilled is called for. This is nice and dry, just how I like it.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

3 responses »

  1. Another person that uses arugula in pesto, very cool. I grow it so I have to make sure to use it all. I love the bite it gives. Also, I don’t like pine nuts, I know odd, so I want a different flavor in there.

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Not odd at all! I know people who are allergic to pinenuts and so am used to alternatives. Enjoy all of that arugula you’re growing!

      Reply
  2. I’ve got to try the arugula! And vinho verde is a staple in our kitchen year round. Love it with fish… Adore it with lobster!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

