RSS Feed

They’re Not Crabs, But They’ll Have to Do

My plans today to enjoy crabs with friends from out of town at Cantler’s in Annapolis were thwarted today by traffic and car trouble. On my return home, I was desperate to throw Old Bay on something, anything, and call it lunch. My best option was a pile of sweet potatoes leftover from last year’s farm share.

I used Ellie Krieger’s recipe after searching around to see what my options were. It’s a fairly basic recipe and I of course adapted it by dousing the fries with Old Bay at every opportunity.

The result, while not crabs, proved satisfactory:

Not crabs, but they'll do.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

5 responses »

  1. Oh crabs. These look good too. But it’s one thing I REALLY miss about Md.

    Reply
  2. I’m so sorry, Missy! But you inspired me to go, anyway 😉

    And I’ll have to try the Elie Krieger method – don’t know if it’s a combo of wrong shape or temp or what, but my sweet potato fries have been soggy and yuck lately but yours look like they were perfect!

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Erin, I think that cutting the potatoes into really thin strips and using oil sparingly was the key — I’ve ended up with soggy sweet potato fries before too. They’re just so much more dense than regular potatoes, I guess…

      Reply
  3. We missed seeing you too! Hope your car is doing better. And we did have some delicious crab cakes in DC, though we didn’t make it out to Annapolis on this trip. Next time!

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Today has been very expensive, but my car is doing much better now. Hope you enjoyed your time in D.C. — we’ll have to catch up soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

