RSS Feed

My Goose Egg is Cooked

Lately, muffins have held the starring role on Sunday mornings here at Freezer Full. Today, there is a muffin, but it’s been overshadowed by the goose egg I bought yesterday.

I did my research* and learned that scrambling or making an omelet was the best way to prepare a goose egg. Unfortunately, my normal omelet pan wasn’t going to be big enough, I feared, so I decided to scramble the egg. I used this recipe as my guide.

First, I cracked the egg into a Pyrex measuring cup. Mind you, it was a four-cup measuring cup, if that gives you an idea how big the yolk was:

The shell was harder to crack than a chicken egg’s and I approached it too vigorously, ending up with bits of shell in the cup after cracking it. I carefully contained the egg in the broken shell while I rinsed out the cup before continuing.

Below is another shot of the yolk. See the can of Pam in the background? This yolk is much bigger around than the base of that can. Once I started whisking the egg, I immediately noticed that the yolk was much thicker than that of a chicken egg.

I didn’t want to mask the flavor of the egg by adding too much to it. After all, the whole reason I spent $3 on the egg (yes, $3) is for the novelty of trying it to see what it was like. Straying from the recipe above a bit, I added about 1.5 tablespoons of 2% milk and then sea salt, pepper and some snipped chives.

As you can see, even though I didn’t add much to the egg, the mixture still came to one cup’s worth.

I coated a large, non-stick pan with cooking spray, then added a tablespoon of olive oil before heating it on medium.

I poured in the egg and stirred. As it started to set, I was struck by how this egg was paler than a chicken egg would be at this stage.

Below is what the egg looked like when done. This is a little less than half of the full egg. It seemed a bit of overkill to try and eat the whole thing, especially since I had other stuff to go with it. I am dreaming up what to do with the leftovers. I think it might involve a hash with any leftover potatoes from what I have planned for dinner tonight.

And below was my complete breakfast, including some very ripe strawberries and a Tuscan Lemon Muffin. These were in the oven while I prepared the egg. It’s a really interesting recipe involving ricotta cheese and olive oil in the batter. They came out looking like cupcakes, tasting sweet and lemony. Sorry that the picture’s not the greatest. I was in a hurry to dig in before the eggs cooled off.

*My research was complicated by the fact that there is a drink called a Goose Egg.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Did it taste like a regular egg?

    I didn’t even realize that geese laid eggs like chickens do (although when I stopped to think about it…duh. Of course they do.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

