RSS Feed

Cooking with Kolhrabi in Somewhat Indian Fashion

First off, let me be clear that I don’t necessarily recommend that you make this exactly like I did. This was my first full-fledged attempt at cooking with kohlrabi and with a full slate of Indian spices. While the results were edible (good, even) and I will eat the leftovers, I wouldn’t actually serve them to anyone else. Especially someone who enjoys Indian food. My hope is that those who know better what they’re doing will figure out a way to improve upon this for themselves. It’s also a nice way to prepare the kohlrabi, if you’re looking for ways to cook it.

My inspiration for the dish was this recipe for Kohlrabi Curry (for which I only had about 1/4 of the ingredients) and the recipe for dal on my box of Indian spices (for which I lacked lentils). I basically followed the dal recipe, substituting potatoes and chopped kohlrabi for the lentils, and then threw in some curry powder towards the end.

Indian-Spiced Potatoes and Kohlrabi

~1 lb. small potatoes (the larger ones chopped into pieces)
3 kohlrabi bulbs, peeled and chopped (you could also include some of the greens; mine weren’t looking so hot)
water
1/2 tsp. tumeric
1 tbsp. olive oil and 2 tbsps. canola oil
1/2 tsp. cumin
1 small onion, diced
3 garlic scapes, chopped
dash of cayenne pepper
2 tbsp. ketchup (stop laughing, it was the only tomato-related substance I had to hand)
1 tsp. garam masala
1/2 tsp. Indian curry powder
water

prepared basmati rice (optional)

fresh herb of choice to top (I used basil; my dal recipe called for cilantro)

I boiled the potatoes, kohlrabi and tumeric together in enough water to cover the veggies, until the potatoes were fork tender. (The kohlrabi was still pretty crisp when all was said and done — next time, I’ll microwave it, as recommended in the curry recipe linked to above.) Then I drained the veggies and returned them to the pot.

Meanwhile, I put the oils and the cumin in a pan and heated the mixture  over medium-high for about 30 seconds before adding the onion and scapes and sauteeing for about 10 minutes. Then I added the cayenne through curry powder and stirred well before adding to the potato mixture. The dal recipe called for a chopped tomato, but I had none. I had once read a recipe for a curry that used ketchup (in Diana Gabaldon’s Outlandish Companion, of all places), and so I used the same technique here.

I realized right away that all of the spices hadn’t really gelled into the sauce, so I added about 1/3 c. of water to the pot and stirred it over medium-high heat for a few minutes.

I spooned some of the final product over some basmati rice (I like carbs with my carbs) and tucked in. It was actually quite tasty, but some of the textures were off (the kohlrabi, as I mentioned, was too firm and it could have used more sauce). Next time, I’ll try to have all of the ingredients for one of the recipes and will follow one or the other more exactly.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

