RSS Feed

The Haul: Late Edition

I didn’t get around to posting this earlier today — been super busy with yard work and getting the house ready for an out-of-town guest next weekend. Here’s what I picked up at the farmer’s market this morning:

TOMATOES!!!!

Summer squash

Zucchini

Eggplant

(all of the above indicating there would be ratatouille in the very near future — see next post)

Not pictured: two pints of blueberries, a bunch of baby carrots and red leaf lettuce

I also picked up the above “Will Work For Food” t-shirt from Provident Organic Farm, where everything above (except the blueberries) came from.

AND I put my name down for a pasture-raised chicken for pick-up at the market next week! Provident doesn’t raise them, but a friend of theirs does. Can’t wait to try it!

The market also had local corn, but I still have some of last summer’s to use up. I’m making myself eat that before I buy fresh ears. For now…

My next stop was the Amish market, where I bought my usual organic quick oats, yogurt and milk. It was a pig-roast day though, with extra goodies for sale in the parking lot. I bought pulled pork, bbq sauce and a still-warm donut. Y-U-M.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. I just got back from our local farmer’s market with tomatoes, garlic, onions, peppers (red sauce coming soon); local strawberries, nectarines, bananas, pineapple, lettuce, cucumbers, sweet potatoes. Happy, happy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

