RSS Feed

Food Adventures in Naptown and Easton

Yesterday, I took a friend from out of town on a sight-seeing tour of Annapolis. We met up with another friend of mine and started out with lunch at Chick and Ruth’s Delly, a must-try place for anyone visiting Naptown.

Bagels as decor at Chick and Ruth's.

I ordered a BLT and onion rings and my friends ordered a roast beef sandwich and a crab cake wrap in addition to shakes and fries. The crab cakes at Chick and Ruth’s are legendary. I tried a bite and it was quite good. Someone at the back of the restaurant attempted the Man vs. Food Challenge (a six-pound shake and one their enormous sandwiches) while we were there and judging from the cheering and applause we heard, I think he may have been successful.

We needed to do a lot of walking to work off that lunch so we toured the Naval Academy and walked up and down Main Street. One of our finds was the Spice and Tea Exchange, which had lots of exotic sugars, salts and spice mixes. I was intrigued by the beer extract powder.

The Fudge Kitchen had quite an elaborate beach display, including these chocolate turtles.

Before departing town, I had a huge ice cream cone from Annapolis Ice Cream Company (no pic of that, sorry).

Upon returning to Easton, we weren’t too terribly hungry, but we decided to grab apps at Martini’s — I tried the duckling dumplings and my friend had the bacon-wrapped scallops. I also had their blackberry martini, which was quite good.

We did some more walking around Easton, taking an informal survey of the dessert menus around town. We settled on the Hunter’s Tavern at the Tidewater Inn. We split the chocolate bread pudding, which was amazing, and I tried their blackberry martini, which was like liquid candy.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

