RSS Feed

Food Processor “Ice Cream”

Blackberry-Peach Food Processor "Ice Cream"

I don’t own an ice cream maker and don’t really want yet another gadget in my kitchen cabinets. So, when I put out the call for peach recipes a couple of weeks ago, I was intrigued by the suggestion of a friend that you could make ice cream in your food processor. Here were her instructions:

“Put 1 c. frozen peaches, 1-2 T. vanilla yogurt, pinch of salt, sugar to taste, 1 t. lemon juice, and just enough milk/cream in a food processor. Puree. The less milk you use, the more like ice cream it is. All the above measurments are guidlines.”

I did the following:

Blackberry Peach Food Processor “Ice Cream”

2 c. frozen peaches, defrosted slightly
3 tbsp. blackberry puree*
1/4 pint honey yogurt
Squeeze of a quarter lemon

I didn’t add milk because I was adding more yogurt proportionally than was originally called for. My peaches were frozen in a sugar syrup, so I didn’t add any extra sugar. I put all of the above in my food processor and let it go. I went in a couple of times to loosen some of the peach clumps so they’d process easily.

The result was a beautiful, purple concoction with the consistency of slightly thawed sherbet. I spooned one cup’s worth into a tea cup and stuck it in the freezer to firm up and poured the rest into a quart container for later and stuck that in the freezer too.

This came together so quickly and easily, I can’t wait to try it again with different fruit combos.

* Yes, leftover blackberry puree from the Purple Martini Nightmare.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

