RSS Feed

The Haul: Gratuitous Edition

I generally walk to the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings unless the weather or my schedule get in the way. I was almost regretting that this morning after buying as much as I did. On the plus side, I was too loaded down to stop by the yard sales I passed on the way back, which prevented me from wasting any money there. Here’s what I picked up today — all local:

– Three more pints of blackberries (I swear I’m actually going to freeze some this week)

– An overflowing pint of cherry/grape tomatoes plus a few “slicers”

– Cantalope

– Zucchini

– Squash

– Eggplant

– Baguette

– A rosemary plant (the one I used to have that was surviving quite nicely on neglect died all of a sudden after I snipped off a branch a couple of weeks ago to use when roasting tomatoes)

Gratuitous Tomato Shot

Gratuitous Blackberries

I had a really hard time photographing the blackberries this morning, The light kept reflecting off of them in a way that really threw off the camera’s settings and I wasn’t sure how to fix that. This was the best shot, but it’s still not that great. I even tried blocking the light, but that didn’t help much…

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. This sounds like my morning too! Except we drove to the farmer’s market, and did stop by to look at several yard sales. Didn’t buy anything though. We purchased blueberries, basil, gooseberries, and stared longingly at the peaches, hot peppers, and lettuces. We didn’t buy more because we’ve joined a CSA this year. We have a lot of food in the house! Hope you are well.

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Jen! We have to get together again soon. If you’re ever down by College Park during the week, let me know. Yeah, I haven’t bought any corn or peaches yet myself. I’m growing gobs of basil and parsley out back. I hope you’re enjoying your CSA!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

