RSS Feed

The McMissy Burger

My creation for dinner tonight: all-bison patty, basil-dijonnaise, fresh sliced tomato, and farmer cheese on a whole-wheat, Amish-made bun.

Who needs McDonald’s?

I was so excited about this burger, I forgot to make a side, so I had it with watermelon. Beer soon to follow.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

3 responses »

  1. Bison can be very (too) lean and difficult to cook nicely. What is your opinion? We sometimes cut it 50/50 with beef, or add a handfull of breadcrumbs.

    Reply
    • baysideresearch

      Hi Katherine! I buy my bison direct from the farm and the farmer told me to cook their patties in a very hot pan for three minutes only on each side. That yields a medium burger and it’s nice and juicy. Hand-formed patties may take a little longer. You might also try adding olive oil to the meat before cooking.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

