RSS Feed

The Haul: Back-from-Vacation Edition

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been on vacation with family. I had grand plans for photographing the food and drinks throughout the week and blogging about them. Yeah, that didn’t happen. They were awesome though! And served in copious amounts!

This morning, I woke up in time to get on the road by 5:30 a.m. for the return trip home. This got me ahead of the rest of the traffic and got me home in time to at least swing by a couple of markets, which was fortunate, since I had no fresh food waiting for me at home.

I didn’t have the energy to go to the open-air farmer’s market, but I did make it to the Amish market, which has a produce section, and the seafood market. My selections this week:

From the Amish market:
‘Shrooms* (not local)
Local cantalope
Local yellow tomatoes
Local blueberries
Milk
Sliced farmer cheese
Yogurt

From the seafood market:
Flounder filets
Shrimp salad
Potato salad
Banana peppers
Tartar sauce

I sauteed the ‘shrooms in olive oil with minced fresh garlic and crushed red pepper. I reserved most of it for later use in either omelets or as a pizza topping. I added Chesapeake Bay Marinade and Meat Sauce to the rest and topped a leftover bison burger with them, fresh sliced tomato and farmer cheese. It was messy, but good.

I have a plan forming in my mind to make fried flounder tacos tomorrow night. I had an awesome flounder dish at Owen’s Outer Banks Restaurant in Nags Head last week. I couldn’t come anywhere near to finishing the platter-sized flounder filet, which was served with bourbon-pecan sauce. I ate the rest of it wrapped in a tortilla on the beach. I plan to create my own version now that I’m home.

*My sister made fun of me for saying ‘shrooms instead of mushrooms last week. She said, “Do people look at you funny when you say it that way?” Harumph.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. I say shrooms too! It’s not just you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

