RSS Feed

Not My Mom’s Fried Flounder

As I mentioned yesterday, I had really good fried flounder down on the OBX and wanted to try and recreate it for dinner this weekend. I found this recipe for Low Country Fried Flounder, which I think came closest to the preparation I had last week.

I had to make a few adjustments — I didn’t have any pancake flour or cornmeal, which was a bummer because the flounder last week definitely had a cornmeal crust. I simply substituted all-purpose flour for both and ground the pecans very fine. I didn’t have Guinness on hand — the darkest beer I had was a Magic Hat seasonal IPA and so that’s what I used (and sipped as I cooked and ate).

I thought this recipe called for a pitiful amount of Old Bay and at least doubled it in the flour coating in addition to sprinkling the fried flounder with more Old Bay and salt once it came out of the pan.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have the right utensil for flipping the flounder in the oil and so the pieces started to come apart as they fried. This didn’t really matter to me because I was going to make sandwiches out of the pieces anyhow. I piled the flounder onto potato rolls spread with tartar sauce, added thin slices of tomato and slivers of banana pepper. I could have done without the pepper strips when all was said and done, but I needed to use the pepper for something.

I ate the sandwiches with potato salad from Captain’s Ketch, where I bought the flounder.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

