RSS Feed

The Haul: Quick Edition

I had just enough time to squeeze in trips to the outdoor and Amish markets this morning. Here’s what I picked up:

Zucchini

Tomatoes

Cantalope

2 pints blackberries (so glad these are still available!)

Loaf of sourdough bread

Flax seed (I grind this to put on my oatmeal in the a.m.)

Strawberry rhubarb jam

1 dozen eggs (collected at 11 p.m. last night, the vendor told me!)

1 pint vanilla yogurt

1 gallon organic milk

6 cinnamon rolls (for breakfast tomorrow – nom!)

I’m feeling like I haven’t been stocking up on items like I said I would. I won’t be home today to do a ton of prep, so I bought the zucchini with the intention of shredding and freezing them tomorrow for later (mmmm, zucchini bread….). In the coming weeks, I plan to stock up on corn and tomatoes for freezing. Before we know it, the fall fruits and veggies will become more abundant.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Wait. You can shred and freeze zucchini? Do you have to do anything to it first?

    I get way more zucchini than I can use from our farm share, so this is good news.

    Reply
  2. baysideresearch

    Hi, Kerry! I blanch it for 2 minutes and then drain it really, really well before freezing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

