RSS Feed

Freezing Shredded Zucchini

Two years ago, my local CSA was actually giving away zucchini because they couldn’t sell the suckers fast enough. And we’re talking foot-long, mutant zucchini too. I took home a couple and cooked some right away. The rest, I froze.

I’m not the hugest summer squash/zucchini fan when it’s served on its own. I like it in soups, and of course, zucchini bread.

This weekend, I purchased three medium zucchini with the intent of shredding and freezing them for baking later.

I know I found a guide for doing so on the Web two years ago, but I’ll be darned if I can find it now. I did find this page, which states that you can freeze the shredded zucchini unblanched. I remember blanching it last time though, so that’s what I did this time as well.

Last time, I hand shredded them too and that was way too messy, time-consuming and tendonitis-inducing. Enter my food processor — what a breeze it was to shred them this time.

I poured the shredded zucchini into a strainer that could sit inside a pot of boiling water. After dipping the strainer into the water, I stirred the zucchini occasionally to make sure it all was getting a good soak. I let it sit in there for two minutes.

I shook the strainer gently over the pot to try and drain as much water as I could before setting the strainer over a bowl and stirring it to drain it some more. Then I let it cool.

I ended up with about a pint of shredded zucchini. I’ll keep a lookout for those huge, honkin’ ones at the market in the next couple of weeks so I can keep myself in zucchini bread once it gets cool enough to bake again.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Excellent idea! I like zucchini and sometimes stuff it and bake it. Love zucchini sticks, breaded and deep fried (ut oh) or in tempura. But lately I’ve just been cutting it up and mixing it with other veggies (e.g., onions, peppers, tomatoes, potatoes, whatever), tossing with olive oil and spices, and baking. Probably among the more healthy options . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

