RSS Feed

Tomatoes, Tomatoes, Tomatoes!

My kitchen is overflowing with tomatoes this weekend. Here’s how I’ve been preparing them:

Grilled Cheese & Tomato Sandwich:

Pretty self-explanatory.

Freezing Tomatoes:

Per my Aunt Teri’s instructions, I took about 5 lbs. of plum and other assorted tomatoes and scored the bottoms. Then, I dunked them into boiling water for a minute, and then into an ice bath, to make them easier to peel. After peeling them, I diced them and divided them into quart-sized bags, ending up with 2 1/2 quarts of tomatoes, which I popped into the freezer. That’s one batch of Mom’s spaghetti sauce, one batch of chili and a soup ingredient in the making, folks! Nothing like cooking with fresh summer tomatoes when it’s cold out!

Summer Pasta with Fresh Tomato, Ricotta and Baby Basil:

Multiplies easily:

1 serving dried pasta of your choice
1 Tbsp ricotta
5-6 baby basil leaves, torn
1/2 tsp. olive oil
1 small garlic clove, minced
1 tomato, chopped
Freshly ground black pepper

Cook the pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile put a dollop of ricotta in a bowl along with the torn basil leaves, set aside. Heat the olive oil over medium-high heat and toss in the garlic. Saute one minute and then pour in the tomatoes. Stir occasionally for a few minutes and then turn down heat to low.

Use tongs or a pasta fork to extract the pasta from the water. Don’t worry about draining completely. Toss on top of the cheese and basil. Pour on the tomato mixture and toss well to melt the cheese and incorporate the basil. Add freshly cracked black pepper and enjoy.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Looks delicious! I had a few quarts of tomatoes too – I made pasta sauce with a friend. After simmering for a few hours on the stove, the whole house smelled divine. I’ve got a ton of basil too – I’ll be making pesto sauce tonight. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

