RSS Feed

The Haul: Hurricane Irene Edition

This was a two- or three-part haul, due to the hurricane bearing down on us. On Wednesday night, I stocked up on non-perishables in anticipation of lost power (more on that in a different post). Last night, I went to the Amish market after work, in case I needed to minimize my time out of the house this morning. When I woke up today, it was gloomy out, but not rainy or windy yet. I ventured down to the open-air market, where less than half the normal vendors had set up shop.

My plan before the hurricane became a reality was to stock up on still more tomatoes and corn this weekend, as their seasons are starting to wind down (and I still hadn’t bought any fresh corn this summer!). I decided only to get a couple of slicer tomatoes instead of a bunch of romas for freezing. The slicers will keep well at room temperature and it will be nice to have something fresh to eat if I have to dip into the packaged food stores should the power go out.

I mentioned to one of the vendors that I really wanted to buy a bunch of corn and freeze it, but I was afraid that would be a waste if the power went out. He said that the hurricane will most likely blow down the remaining corn on the stalks and so this was the last of the fresh corn. That sold me. I bought six ears (half what I had planned).

As soon as I got home, I shucked the ears and boiled them for five minutes. I reserved one ear to eat later with dinner and cut the rest of the kernels off the cobs, separating them into quart-size freezer bags (one or two ears per bag). I also bagged the cobs and threw it all in the freezer (with my fingers crossed). I’ll either boil the cobs some more in a stock or defrost them and throw them in the compost bin (currently dismantled and in my shed, locked up tight).

Here’s what else I bought over the past two days:

Yogurt
Pork bbq and sauce (there was an end-of-summer cookout at the Amish market yesterday — this is dinner tonight and tomorrow)
Hot dog buns (the only rolls left at the market; I figured they’d work just as well for bbq)
Coleslaw
Kettle corn (an important staple in emergencies like this)
Smoked salmon salad (lunch today — and hopefully tomorrow — to be served on some whole-grain Italian bread I pulled out of the freezer)
Red bell pepper (also keeps well at room temperature and good to snack on)

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

