RSS Feed

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

I picked up a spaghetti squash at the farmer’s market this morning and let the farmer know that I had never cooked one before. She gave me a couple of suggestions for preparing it. She said to cut the stem off and poke it many times with a fork and roast it at 350 degrees until it starts to collapse on itself (I ended up increasing the temp to 375 to speed things up). Then, once it’s cool enough to handle, slice it in half and spoon out the seeds, then the flesh.

Ricotta and garlic sprinkled over spaghetti squash.

She said she uses the flesh as the base for a lasagna-like dish with ricotta, tomatoes and a strong cheese. She said the flavor of the flesh was not strong and could handle any kind of strong cheese.

I had a bunch of leggy basil in the yard that needed dealing with, so I made a batch of pesto. After preparing the squash per the farmer’s instructions, I spread it into the bottom of a baking pan. I sprinkled that with chopped garlic, salt and pepper, and then dolloped on some ricotta.

Then, I spooned on the pesto and spread chopped red zebra tomatoes on top. I sprinkled everything with salt and pepper again and then shredded some parm on top.

I baked the whole thing for 20 minutes at 350, covered with foil, and then baked it at 375 uncovered for another 10 minutes or so, until everything was nice and bubbly. It was delish!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

Leave a Reply

