RSS Feed

The Haul: Bodily-Harm Edition

A relative of mine threatened bodily injury if I didn’t start posting here again, so here goes. For the record, I’ve been under the weather lately and/or my trips to the farmer’s markets were for staples only, and therefore I haven’t been cooking that much — B-O-R-I-N-G.

But, this weekend has been a little more interesting. Here’s what I got:

Bison flank steak

Ground bison

Spaghetti squash

Honey yogurt

Semolina multi-grain bread

Mocha chocolate chunk cookie (breakfast)

Iced tea (also breakfast)

I attempted to buy eggs, but I got to the market late and there were no more eggs to be had.

And here’s what I made for dinner tonight:

Flank steak and spaghetti squash with cheese and garlic.

I marinated the flank steak in Chesapeake Bay Meat Sauce and Marinade and then broiled it for about 10 minutes. The spaghetti squash I made loosely based on this recipe on my friend Erin’s blog. I substituted extra-sharp cheddar for the goat cheese and olive oil for the butter. I also added paprika.

I ate the above with hunks of the semolina bread and red wine (Ardales Tempranillo), which Hair of the Dog promised would be good with bbq (and I lumped flank steak into that category). Turned out to be quite good!

(Hope you’re happy A. Joan)

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Looks yummy, Missy! …I got what I wanted, didn’t I!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

