RSS Feed

The Haul: The Great Pumpkin Edition

Today I ventured out in the chilly air to see what the farmer’s market had to offer. I had in mind to buy a pumpkin to decorate my front stoop and if I could find one that I could cook with after Halloween, so much the better. Well, bingo! One of the stalls at the market had a plethora of pumpkins of varying types and sizes. I asked about the blue ones because they were pretty. Turns out they’re a French heirloom variety (I forget the name and the vendor had trouble pronouncing it anyhow). She said I could make soup or pie from the flesh. Perfect!

I was also pleased to see there were still local tomatoes on offer. I snatched up some grape tomatoes from Provident Organic Farm and some of their pears. I can’t eat pears unless they are cooked. I wasn’t planning on buying any, but couldn’t resist. I asked the farmer how long the pears would last and he said if I could find some without bug damage, they’d last 2-3 weeks in the fridge. I selected three. They were listed as cooking pears. They’re very hard. I need to find a recipe for them.

I stopped by my friends at the bison stall (SB Farms). I wasn’t planning on buying anything because I still have some of their ground bison at home. I intend to make lasagna with that. I got talked into trying their pre-made sloppy joe mix though. Mrs. SB said she turns it into spaghetti sauce or taco meat, just by adding McCormick seasoning. I’m going to try and make a casserole out of it.

Which is why I bought cottage cheese and extra-sharp cheddar at the Amish market (where I also bought milk).

Here’s what else I picked up:

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

