RSS Feed

The Easiest App/Tailgate Food/Brunch Staple/Snack You’ll Ever Make

Bisquick, sausage, cheese. That's all you need.

This dish is impossible to screw up. Trust me. It has a grand total of three ingredients (well, four, if you include a splash of water). The proportions hardly matter. And it is a hit with everyone.

These cheese-and-sausage balls have been a staple at gatherings of my family (especially in the fall) ever since I can remember. I started bringing them to potlucks and parties many years ago. Now, I am not allowed at many of my friends’ parties unless I bring these with me.

I prepared this batch in advance of tailgating next weekend and have popped them in the freezer until then. The only ingredients are Bisquick*, sausage (I usually buy spicy Italian sausage) and cheddar cheese, plus a little water to make it all stick together.

*I know. Processed food and in no way local. I am usually too lazy to make my own mix, but was pleased to find this box with no trans fats. To make up for it, the sausage is from a local farm.

Here’s how it works:

Shred your cheese (if that's not done already), add the sausage, throw in the Bisquick.

Then, you just add some water and mix it all together until it forms a nice sticky dough (yes, this step is rather messy):

Then, pull up bits of the dough and roll it into small balls — 1-2 inches in diameter. Bake.

Et, voila:

Crunch, gooey, spicy goodness.

Here is a recipe to get you started, but really, the proportions are completely up to you. The less Bisquick you use, the less biscuit-y they’ll be. If you add too much Bisquick, you’ll end up with cheese-and-sausage biscuits — just pretend that was your goal all along!

Cheese-and-Sausage Balls
(makes about 3 dozen)

Ingredients:

1 lb. sharp cheddar, shredded
1 lb. bulk sausage (hot, turkey, veggie, any kind will do)
1-1 1/2 c. Bisquick
1/2-3/4 c. water

Mix everything together with your hands. If the dough is too sticky, add more Bisquick. If it’s too dry, add more water, a splash at a time. Roll into balls of 1-2 inches. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet 1-2 inches apart. Bake for 10-15 minutes at 400 degrees (until the balls turn golden).

The cheese will cause the bottom of the balls to be crispy. This is normal and tasty.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. YUM! Definitely going to try these! Thank goodness they make Bisquick gluten free now too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

