RSS Feed

The Haul: Waterfowl Festival Edition

I just returned from my treks in and around Easton during one of its busiest weekends of the year. It’s Waterfowl Festival time! I can hear some of the competitions/demonstrations from my living room — they’re happening only a couple of blocks away. The town is all dressed up in duck blinds and camo and feathers.

I walked into town to visit the open-air market, despite the chilly temp of 36 degrees. All the roads between my house and the market are pretty much closed. I bought:

  • 1 bunch carrots
  • 2 small heads of broccoli
  • 2 small green peppers
  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Cheddar cheese
  • 1 pound of smoked bacon
  • 1 pound of loose sausage
  • 1 cider donut (breakfast)

I was disappointed not to see the bison and coffee stalls there this weekend. I hope they’re not done for the season!

After walking back to the house (taking the pic above along the way), I unloaded and got ready to head out again. This time, I drove around the outskirts of town to reach the Amish market, avoiding the closed roads and growing crowds of tourists (who are hard to see because they’re all wearing neutral colors and/or camo).

At the Amish market, I bought:

  • 1 jar of honey
  • organic quick oats
  • whipped butter
  • 1 gallon 2% milk
  • garlic

I am making chili this weekend — probably going to make it tonight and let the flavors meld overnight. Then I’m having some friends over for a chili dinner tomorrow night. The recipe I’m using calls for a fruity red wine, so I had to head to the Hair of the Dog to stock up on that. While there, I also bought a white wine (my stock is depleted) and a six-pack of Franziskaner Weissbier.

After that errand was done, I was hungry and so I headed to Captain’s Ketch. I bought:

  • 1/2 pint tuna salad
  • 1/2 pint shrimp salad
  • crackers
  • chocolate-chip cookies

I figure the shrimp salad can be an app tomorrow night with the crackers. I tried them out with the tuna salad for a snack followed by one of the cookies (just like homemade, baked right at the shop). Yes, after that and the donut, planning a trip to the gym later.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

