RSS Feed

“All-American Chili”

Last weekend, I invited friends over for chili. It’s the perfect time of year for it. I made the chili the day before so the flavors would meld. I used this Cooking Light recipe, omitting the sausage as my guests requested a non-spicy chili. I substituted ground bison for the beef and a small red chili, stripped of its seeds and ribbing, for the jalapeno (it’s what I had on hand). I also used some of my aunt’s tomatoes, which I had frozen, in place of some of the canned tomatoes.

This recipe makes a ton of chili, as evidenced simply by the amount of chopped veggies you start off with. Missing from the picture at right is the meat, which I eventually remembered to throw in.

Since I like my chili a bit spicy, I shredded some spicy jack cheese to top the chili (I also had shredded cheddar for those who wanted non-spicy cheese). I served the chili with cornbread (I had bought some mix from a 10,000 Villages store) and steamed broccoli with a cheddar sauce.

My friends brought a really good dessert — baked apples with cinnamon, raisins and nutmeg. I’m not the biggest fan of raisins (actually, I can’t stand them), but was able to easily eat around them.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

