RSS Feed

Pumpkin Goat Cheese Dip and What to Do with the Ingredient Leftovers Thereof

For Thanksgiving this year, I tasked myself with taking pumpkin goat cheese dip to my brother’s house and it was quite the hit. I was in such a hurry to pack it up and leave for his house after preparing it last week though that I forgot to take a picture of it, so all you get is the photo at left of the pints of pureed pumpkin that were leftover after I roasted a pumpkin for the dip. These are destined for soup.

The problem, after making the dip, was that I was left with quite a quantity of evaporated milk, plain yogurt and goat cheese as well. I didn’t want to make still more dip, so I went in search of recipes with which to use the leftover ingredients.

I happened upon this recipe for a Yogurt Cheese Torte. I haven’t finished making it, but have gotten as far as making the yogurt cheese, which is firming up in the fridge. I will probably substitute some arugula pesto for the herb blend called for in the recipe.

I then found this recipe for Stove-Top Mac and Cheese with Tomatoes, which called for evaporated milk. I made several substitutions in the recipe. I added some of the spicy jack cheese I had leftover from chili night a couple of weeks ago. Instead of elbow macaroni, I used some pasta I found at the local Italian market. I used tomatoes that I had previously frozen and then roasted them in my toaster oven. I used a real egg instead of egg substitute. I also added some of the goat cheese because I boiled more noodles than the recipe called for and needed to stretch the sauce a bit. Below is the result, which was spicy and creamy and so good.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Mmmmm. That mac and cheese looks amazing! The pumpkin goat cheese dip sounds quite lovely too. I made this dish for Thanksgiving – http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Butternut-Squash-and-Hazelnut-Lasagne-105911. Not much left over! 🙂

    Reply
    • You’ve actually had the dip before, Bhuv! I made it for Sid and Andrew’s engagemen/Halloween party many years ago! The mac and cheese is so good. I opted for seconds of that instead of chocolate cake for dessert tonight! That lasagna looks great!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

