RSS Feed

The Haul: Catching Up Edition

I didn’t make it to the markets last weekend because I was out of town, so I made up for lost time this morning. Thank goodness I drove to the open-air market, because I was quite loaded down by the end. I bought:

  • 1 loaf Vermont sourdough bread*
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Small white potatoes
  • Butternut squash
  • Carrots
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Yogurt
  • Smoked salmon salad (lunch today and tomorrow on the sourdough)
  • A piece of lemon-poppy seed poundcake (from the Talbot Hospice bake sale; for breakfast)
  • A small brownie (prize for donating extra to the Hospice bake sale; with Ghiradelli chocolate chips; for second breakfast)

The bake sale lady informed me that she’ll be back next week for a cookie sale benefiting Talbot Humane. The idea will be that you purchase a box and then fill it with a variety of cookies of your choosing. Fun!

Then I went to the Amish market for my weekly milk purchase and to grab some ingredients for two dishes I’m making tomorrow. I also ordered my Christmas turkey for pick-up on Christmas Eve. I bought:

  • 1 gallon of milk
  • 1 dozen free-range eggs
  • 1 lime
  • 1 lemon
  • Chicken bouillion powder with parsley flakes
  • flour (I anticipate I’ll be baking more once my oven is fixed)

Tomorrow I’m planning to make this recipe for pumpkin soup (which called for the lime) and, since my oven is broken, a slow-cooker recipe for whole chicken with mushrooms and potatoes. It calls for the lemon and bouillion. I bought the chicken through Provident Organic Farms earlier this summer. If it’s good (and I’m sure it will be), I’ll be ordering more from them.

*Anyone local will be thrilled to find out that Against the Grain bakery will move to the Easton Market Square building when the open-air market closes 12/17 and they’re planning to be open on Christmas Eve, so you can have fresh bread that weekend! Provident Organic Farms also will continue to sell from the Easton Market Square building.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

