RSS Feed

Baking Extravaganza

My oven has been broken for more than two weeks. Until today. The part finally arrived and I finally had a chance to stay home and wait for the repairman. I’ve been making sure the oven works almost since the moment he left.

First, I reheated a spinach lasagna that I bought at Piazza Italian Market while I was there to buy lunch today. That came out perfectly, though I can’t take any credit for it. Lunch was their new mushroom panini, by the way, and it was dee-lish.

Next, I made Bacon Cheddar Corn Muffins. I’d been eying this recipe for months and finally had all the ingredients on-hand to make it. I fried up a pound of bacon that I’d bought from Black Bottom Farms several weeks ago (reserving the rest for another recipe I’ll make later this weekend). The pieces were quite thick and tasty (ok, I ate one). The muffins taste really good. I substituted the remainder of the spicy jack cheese I had on hand for the cheddar and jalapeno. The cumin is just short of overpowering — I may reduce it a smidge next time, but it’s a nice touch overall. My only complaint is that the muffin cups have been sticking to the muffins, tearing the sides of the muffins off when I try to remove them. Will have to spray them more carefully next time…

Finally, I made this recipe for Brown Sugar and Spice Cookies. The recipe has promise, but is missing something. Even the color of the cookies is kind of bland. Not sure what else is needed. I might actually try adding pepper, if I make these again.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. Those look absolutely wonderful and delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

