RSS Feed

The Haul: Whole Lotta Bison Edition

Next weekend is the last weekend for the open-air market in Easton, but some of the vendors are only there every other week. One of those vendors is SB Farms, from whom I buy all of my bison. And I bought a lot of it today, to see me through the winter:

  • 1 eye of round (for roast “beef”)
  • 1 pound ground bison
  • 1 set burger patties
  • 1 tub sloppy joe mix
  • 1 tub pulled bbq
  • 1 pound chip steak (like bison steak-ums)

Now I’m kind of wishing I’d bought more of the ground, but I’ve been out to the farm in the past and can always go back if I need more before the market re-opens in April.

I also bought:

  • Broccoli florets
  • Carrots
  • Yogurt
  • A baguette
  • A Christmas present for someone šŸ™‚

No picture this week because so much of my purchases had to go straight to the freezer. Instead, I give you a photo of one of the bison from my previous visit to SB Farms:

Oh! Almost forgot. Last night, I made my weekly trek to the Amish market, where I stocked up on:

  • 2 gallons milk (I needed a lot for last night’s Baking Extravaganza and for the pasta dish I’m making tomorrow; everything else below is for the pasta dish too).
  • Dried rosemary
  • Shallots
  • Provolone
  • Parm
About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

