RSS Feed

Possibly My Most Favorite Casserole Ever

Even though it’s kind of a pain in the butt to make and clean up after, this may be my most favorite casserole recipe ever. It has butternut squash, bacon, cheese and pasta, quite literally hitting all major food groups.

The butternut squash I started out with was gargantuan. I cubed half of it for this recipe and I think I still ended up with more than 3 cups. I roasted the other half alongside the cubed mixture. I froze it for future use.

It had been a while since I made this recipe and so I forgot that the suggested time and temperature for roasting the butternut squash is way too long and high. Hence, the squash turned out a bit browner than I would recommend. Luckily, it hardly made a difference in the taste.

The squash mixed in with the bacon and shallots.

I used a slightly different pasta than is called for in the recipe (though even the recipe has a note about a broad array of pasta types that work with this dish). I used about an ounce more provolone than in the recipe because I was pretty sure I had more pasta than the recipe called for. Here was the result:

I’ll be eating this for lunch and dinner for days, but you won’t hear me complaining!

(Not pictured: the steamed broccoli I meant to serve with the above, which I forgot was in the microwave)

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

