RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Blossoms

Among my favorite Christmas-time cookies are Peanut Butter Blossoms (or, as I’ve always referred to them, those peanut butter cookies with Hershey’s Kisses on top). Here is a link to the recipe on my friend Thomas’ site. The only change I made is I substituted a scant half cup of canola oil for the shortening, which I try not to use. The batter was a bit crumbly and the balls had to be smushed together rather than rolled, but the cookies came out just fine. I used a crunchy natural peanut butter for the first time in these cookies and really like the result. Unfortunately, I did burn a few on the bottom (those towards the back of the oven got blasted). I ended up reducing the oven temp to 365 on subsequent batches and that solved the problem. I made need to recalibrate my oven…

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. Do you use parchment paper to line your cookie sheets?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

