RSS Feed

Christmas Dinner Redux

My sister requested turkey for Christmas dinner. For those who might be curious, here’s the full menu. What possessed me to cook for 12 when there was only two of us is beyond me. At least we both ended up with lots of leftovers!

  • Sweet Potato Crunch
  • Cornbread Stuffing (a hybrid of my mom’s recipe from the back of the Pepperidge Farm stuffing bag, but using homemade cornbread adapted from this recipe, without the cheddar and jalapeno)
  • My Aunt Teri’s brandied peaches
  • Aunt Teri’s canned green beans (cooked in bacon grease!)

My moment of genius came when I saved the bacon grease from the bacon I made with Christmas breakfast for sauteeing the veggies for the stuffing (I also used butter, but I didn’t have enough butter for all the dishes I had to make). I think my favorite (at least new-to-me) dish was the sweet potatoes. So good!

Hope everyone’s having a great holiday season!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

