RSS Feed

Roast Beef (Bison) & Yorkshire Pudding

How have I not made or eaten Yorkshire pudding until now? Today, I roasted an eye of round piece of bison in the oven. I set the oven to 375 and roasted it for 30 minutes, then checked it every 15-20  minutes until a meat thermometer inserted read 125-130.  Then I let it sit while I prepared gravy, Yorkshire pudding, honey-glazed carrots and spicy garlic mushrooms.

I referred to several recipes for Yorkshire pudding, including that in Nigella Lawson’s Feast, The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook and at Closet Cooking (I also used his guidelines for gravy here).

Since the roast I was cooking was of bison, it didn’t produce a lot of drippings to use both for the pudding and the gravy. I used bacon grease in a 12-muffin pan to make the individual Yorkshire puddings instead. I first set the pan in the oven while the bison roasted to heat it up and then added about 1/4 tsp of bacon grease to each cup and set the pan back in the oven. When the roast came out, I cranked up the heat to 450 and ladled the pudding batter (which had been sitting in the fridge) into the cups. I baked them for 10 minutes at 450 and then almost 10 more minutes at 350. They puffed up into little bowl shapes, perfect for holding gravy (I like to think of them as mini, savory grown-up funnel cakes):

Not shown below are the mushrooms, which I did remember to add to my plate before digging in. I forget where I originally found the recipe for these, but I basically tossed 6 large, sliced mushrooms in sauteed minced garlic (one large clove) in olive oil and threw in about 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. I let them cook down while I made everything else.

I have to say that this was the first time I cooked bison and it didn’t taste like its cow-sourced counterpart. Not sure if it was the cut or not. Not that it tastes bad, just different from the roast beef I grew up eating.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

5 responses »

  1. I grew up eating Yorkshire pudding every Sunday. My grandparents (mom’s parents) were from England and that was a traditional Sunday supper – rare roast beef and Yorkshires! Then my 2nd mother-in-law was a cook in England and she taught me how to make herbed Yorkshires – even better than plain! Yours look perfect by the way 🙂

    Reply
  2. You prepared a lovely meal. I love bison and yours looks cooked perfectly.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Roast Beef* Leftovers #1 « Freezer Full

Leave a Reply

