RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip-Banana Bread

I remember my mom making this a few times and when I went through her recipes after college, I was sure to write it down. It’s a very dense bread. This latest loaf needed 65 minutes to bake instead of 50.

I didn’t have 12 oz. of regular chocolate chips, so I added enough mini chocolate chips to make up the difference.

Ingredients:

Two sizes of chocolate chips went into my batter.

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar
1/2 c. nuts (optional)
3/4 c. sugar
12 oz. chocolate chips
1/2 c. veg. oil
2 eggs
2 ripe bananas, sliced
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine first five ingredients in large bowl; mix well and set aside. Combine remaining ingredients in container of electric mixer (I used a hand mixer) and process at medium speed for 20 seconds; stir into flour mixture. Pour into a greased 9x5x3″ loaf pan. Bake 50 minutes (or until toothpick inserted into the bread comes out clean).

Have a little banana bread with your chocolate chips.

Submitted to Sweet as Sugar Cookie‘s Link Party!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

5 responses »

  1. (Sorry, I can’t resist….) Would you like some banana with your chocolate chips?

    Honestly, this looks wonderful. It’s inspirational, too, because I have frozen banana and I bought a bag of chocolate chips at Costco before Christmas.

    Reply
  2. LOL! I clicked through from FB and I didn’t read your photo caption. Uh, great minds think alike???

    Reply
  3. Yum, chocolate chips are definitely a good addition to banana bread. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your banana bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweets-for-saturday-51.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

