RSS Feed

Weeknight Leftovers: Garlic Bread Pizzas

I’ve been making these since I was a kid. Whenever my mom made spaghetti, she usually served it with garlic bread — I’d save the bread until I was done eating my spaghetti and scoop any remaining sauce on my plate onto the bread. I think my cousin Lee showed me how to do this when we were 5 or 6.

Now, if I make spaghetti sauce and have some leftover (but not enough to boil more spaghetti), I turn it into pizza sauce instead. For what you see pictured, I didn’t make full-on garlic bread. I’m too tired for that on a weeknight.

Instead, I pulled out two frozen slices of country French bread and toasted them to thaw them out/crisp them up. Then, I rubbed each slice with half of a garlic clove, spooned on the spaghetti sauce (heated up in the microwave), shredded some Parm over top and broiled them until the sauce was nice and hot and the cheese melted.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

