RSS Feed

Very Berry Oatmeal Pancakes on a Rainy Morning

Hello, Freezer-Fulligans! I’m back! My aunt was lamenting the lack of recent posts (the result of a foot injury that’s been keeping me off my feet). One does not like to make one’s aunt unhappy, so here is a post to get you all by.

The weather sucks this morning and my normal cold oatmeal breakfast wasn’t going to cut it. But I needed to do penance for dinner last night (deep-fried veggies and a chicken cheesesteak [and possibly tiramisu]). So I decided to make pancakes incorporating the oatmeal and ground flaxseed that I normally eat for breakfast.

Also? It’s March! I’ve made it almost all the way through winter without tapping too much into my frozen fruit stash. I decided to incorporate some blueberries and blackberries into my pancakes as well.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/3 c. skim milk
1/2 c. oatmeal
2 tbsp. ground flaxseed*
1/2 c. frozen blueberries, rinsed (remember, it’s best to freeze them without rinsing them first so they hold their shape and texture)
3/4 c. frozen blackberries
1 large egg
2 c. Bisquick mix (I used the kind that is trans-fat free)

I poured the milk, oatmeal and flaxseed into a 4-cup measuring cup to let those dry ingredients soak a bit while I prepped the rest of the ingredients. After that mixture had sat for a few moments, I mixed in everything else and stirred until well incorporated.

Then, I ladled the batter onto a hot pan (one ladleful at a time; each made for a large pancake) and cooked as usual.

As you can see, the batter made for quite a few large pancakes! I smeared mine with butter and poured on hot real maple syrup.

* Don’t buy already ground flaxseed — it won’t have nearly as much of the health benefit as if you grind it yourself. I buy the whole seeds and freeze them, grinding them in a coffee grinder by the half-pint and freezing that too. Ground flaxseed needs to be kept away from light and freezing it keeps it as fresh as possible.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

3 responses »

  1. Welcome Back, FF! These look and sound yummy! This Aunt is very happy 🙂 XO, AJ

    Reply
  2. Anne Herrington

    These sound absolutely delicious, Missy – am printing and will prepare shortly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

