RSS Feed

And So It Begins…

… a new chapter in Freezer Full land.

Bye-bye, holly tree. Hello, veggie patch.

A tree in my yard fell earlier this month, clearing a space for a vegetable patch. This is something I’ve always wanted to do, but my yard is super-tiny and somewhat over-landscaped from when it was put on the market by the previous owners. Previously, the sunniest spot for a vegetable patch was smack-dab in the middle of the lawn.

I have to be careful though. There are many cats who wander my street and I don’t like the idea of eating things grown in an outdoor litter box. Therefore, I’m splurging on this, even though I really can’t afford it after paying to have the tree removed. I also bought one of their tomato-success kits.

The first seeds I'm starting inside: kale, carrots, basil and arugula. Those are plastic knives serving as plant markers.

The night after the tree fell in my yard, I knew what I was going to do with that space. I started making a list of the seeds I wanted to purchase. They have arrived and I’ve already planted a few in containers to start them indoors. Here’s what I got:

  • Arugula
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Kale
  • Onion
  • Parsnips
  • Peppers (Bell)
  • Spinach (hot-weather)
  • Yellow Squash
  • Zucchini
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Rutgers Tomatoes

I ordered the seeds from Organica Seeds. I wanted to buy organic, non-GMO seeds for heirloom plants. I also bought seeds for basil, echinacea and lavender. While shopping over the weekend, I also bought a package of wildflower seed bombs. I’m thinking of spreading these in a bed where I had a landscaper rip out a bunch of overgrown bushes.

My notes on when/how to start each type of seed. We'll see how well this works!

I really don’t have a clue what I’m doing. I haven’t planted vegetables since I had a small container garden on my deck in Somerville, Mass., several years ago. I fully expect that I won’t have success with all of the plants above (especially with things like celery, which is notoriously hard to grow). I’ve been relying on this site for tips on how to take care of these plants, when to start the seeds, etc. It’s for the New York area, but I’m adjusting as necessary for the climate down here in Maryland.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

3 responses »

  1. I’ve just posted about seed starting – and I live in your state. Check it out and feel free to let me know if you have any questions. I’ve got a tree I sort of wish would bite the dust. Don’t have the heart to get rid of it, but sure would love to add a patch in that perfectly sunny spot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

