RSS Feed

Arugula Pesto-Mushroom Omelet and Spicy Grilled Sweet Potatoes

Dinner tonight.

I’ve blogged about arugula pesto omelets before. I don’t really care for just plain omelets, and throwing in the pesto is an easy way to dress them up. I made the pesto from arugula I bought at the farmer’s market yesterday, along with pine nuts and pecorino romano cheese, at the suggestion of the ladies at Piazza Italian Market. I had some sauteed mushrooms leftover from last weekend, so I threw those in too. I sprinkled still more of the cheese in the omelet as it cooked.

The omelet ended up being so big that I only ate half of it. I served it with sliced strawberries over still more arugula and a side of spicy grilled sweet potatoes. These were really easy and came out nice even though I messed up the directions — I combined the oil, potatoes and dry ingredients and tossed together before grilling. I was supposed to just toss the potatoes and oil together, grill, and then sprinkle on the seasoning. Ah well.

Garden Update: I bought the raw materials for the cat-guard I’m going to construct for my Vegtrug. I picked up chicken wire, posts and two lattice end caps that I hope will fit onto the ends of the trough. My plan is to make a fence that I can roll open when needed, otherwise I’m afraid it will be too tall for me to reach over. We’ll see how cooperative the chicken wire is for that plan (I’ve never worked with it before).

Cat-guard materials procured.

I toyed with the idea of using wooden border fencing instead of the chicken wire — I won’t want it to look like my veggies are in prison. But I was afraid the heftier wooden sides would shade the plants too much, and restrict any outward growth.

Instead, I opted for a combination fence/wire contraption. I still need to fill the trough with soil before I can put it into place. Maybe next weekend, if the weather cooperates. I’m hoping I may even have seedlings ready to be planted out there by then.

In the meantime, I need to collect some 2-liter bottles for a self-watering system I’ve bought into. Hoping to collect these from coworkers.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

