RSS Feed

Grilled Onion, Halloumi and Wilted Spinach Salad

There’s probably room for improvement here, but if you haven’t tried grilling onions or haloumi cheese yet, I encourage you to try it. I started out with red onions I bought today at the farmer’s market. Aren’t they gorgeous? Never thought I’d say that about an onion.

I heated my grill pan to hot and, after brushing the onions with olive oil, started grilling them cut side down. It smelled so good. After about five minutes, I flipped them. They didn’t start to smoke until I turned them over. I just turned on the exhaust fan and that kept things under control. After about 10 minutes, during which I flipped them one more time, I moved them to a plate.

Meanwhile, I was sauteing some spinach leaves in olive oil in another pan. I added salt and pepper and balsamic vinegar (eyeballing all amounts).

After the spinach was done (I left it in the pan after turning off the heat), I started grilling the cheese, which I’d cut into 1/3″ slices. I don’t think cast iron is the best method for grilling this kind of cheese. It stuck to the pan and was hard to clean off later (my stiff-bristle brush didn’t touch it — had to use my fingernails).

But the end result was worth that bother. The cheese kind of tastes like string cheese, except saltier, and it squeaks in your mouth. If this doesn’t appeal to you, this salad would have been good with grilled portobello mushrooms instead. Or grilled chicken. I also can imagine a variation with feta and orange slices. Mmm… Maybe even grilled orange slices. I’m turning into a grilling fiend.

The below wasn’t my dessert, it was my mid-afternoon snack: toasted slices of baguette (saved from a Panera meal a few days ago), smothered in Nutella and then topped with fresh sliced strawberries. Heaven!

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

2 responses »

  1. It’s that time of year! I published a raw wilted greens salad today. Yum! Yay Spring!!

    Reply
  2. This sounds so AMAZING. I adore halloumi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

