RSS Feed

Garden Update

I just couldn’t wait anymore and so, with fingers crossed, I’ve filled up the Vegtrug and transplanted a few items into it. The Vegtrug is marketed as an easy-access raised bed due to its height. It was quite a lot of work to fill it with eight 50-lb bags of soil, however. Glad that’s done.

One of the potential garden explorers.

After I filled the trough with soil, I had to build the cat-fence/veggie prison. It came out pretty much like I pictured — I’ll probably fiddle with it some more over time. The front section of chicken wire can be unrolled completely so I can access the plants. It’s held in place by garden ties around the posts.

I transplanted the rosemary plant I bought a couple of weeks ago, plus one arugula plant and a few kale plants. I also direct seeded some onion and the spinach seeds that I soaked last weekend. BTW, one of the original spinach seeds made a liar out of me and sprouted last weekend. That one needs some time to grow more before it can be transplanted in with the others though.

Arugula

When I transplanted the arugula, I had to pinch off one of the plants because they were growing too close together. I ran inside, rinsed off a couple of the leaves and ate them. So good!

The weather is supposed to be pretty mild the rest of the week, so I’m hoping that the transplants fare well.

Kale plants.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

