RSS Feed

The Haul: Hot and Muggy Edition

When I woke up and saw that it was 70 degrees outside, I thought, “Sweet! What a relief after several oppressive days.” But the temperature reading was deceptive. I don’t know if it was the humidity, the fact I hadn’t eaten or what, but I was sapped after I got back from the market. I know this is nothing compared to what we’ll have by August, but I’m ready for a cool-down.

Here’s what I’ve picked up so far today:

  • Bison flank steak and burgers
  • Carrots
  • Cantalope
  • Blueberries
  • 2 slicer tomatoes
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • *Green* eggs!
  • Magda squash

The green eggs are a novelty from one of the vendors. They taste the same as any other egg — it’s just the breed of chicken that produces them that gives the shells their green hue. The inside of the egg looks normal.

I bought the Magda squash from Provident Organic Farm and the farmer said that they are great grilled/stuffed. Can’t wait to try it!

Need to hit the fish market and possibly the Amish market still.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

Leave a Reply

