RSS Feed

The Haul: Flower Power Edition

Today, at the open-air market I bought:

  • 3 pints blackberries
  • 1 canary melon
  • 1 cuke
  • 1 purple bell pepper
  • 1 pint assorted cherry tomatoes
  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 1 bison flank steak
  • 4 bison burgers
  • 1 jar local wildflower honey
  • 5 sunflowers!

Garden Update

Sad times in the Vegtrug last night as I put the zucchini plants and one of the squash plants out of their misery. The zucchini plants never produced fruit and their blossoms were all withering. I left one of the squash plants as it still had developing fruit on it, but by the state of its leaves, it’s not long for this world either.

BUT, removing all those plants allowed me access to harvest my first planting of carrots! One of them is quite ladylike:

I’m still struggling with blossom end rot among my tomato plants. I have managed to snag a few tomatoes off the plants as they start to turn orangey and before the rot sets in. They ripen pretty well on my window sill. I ate two last night with dinner. Yesterday at lunch I ate the only bell pepper I’ve managed to harvest so far…

I keep telling myself this isn’t that bad for my first year with a real garden. Lots of lessons learned. I am not drowning in produce as I had hoped, but it’s still a lot of fun and I’m eating really well.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

4 responses »

  1. You’re not doing bad at all for your first garden! Like any skill, this one takes time and effort to learn. Every area has its issues to deal with and discover how to get around them. I’ve never had blossom end rot here. Do you have a local agriculture extension office? I have found them invaluable resources for identifying problems and helping with solutions. Even my father, the lifelong farmer, used them regularly.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Lee. I meant to talk to some of the farmers at the farmer’s market today. Your suggestion is a good one! I’m also going to contact Gardener’s Supply Company to see what they suggest — I’m using their “Tomato Success Kit.”

    Reply
  3. So we’re growing bell peppers too. I have one that looks ready and I want to pick it but my bf insists that it will get bigger. Do homegrown bell peppers get as big as the one in the stores?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

