RSS Feed

The Haul + Garden Update

I surprised this praying mantis while weeding my driveway (!) by the garage. Notice he’s about to have a snack? I desperately need a new driveway. It’s going to be an ordeal though — the old asphalt needs to be ripped out and the ground regraded. Ugh.

Anywho, I didn’t take photos of my haul this morning because it was a bit unwieldy:

  • 3 pints blackberries from two different farms
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 1 canary melon (last week’s was SO good!)
  • 1 pint assorted cherry, grape and pear tomaotes
  • 1 pint assorted other tomaoes
  • 1 pint Pruden’s Purple tomatoes (the tie-dyed variety from a few weeks ago)
  • 1 pint greek feta cheese (not the rosemary kind, but still pretty good)
  • 2 purple peppers
  • 1 pint jalapeno-hot (but not true jalapeno) peppers

Currently awaiting some houseguests to arrive before probably venturing back out to the Amish market.

Garden Update

I *think* the blossom end rot problem may be solved after watering my tomatoes more regularly (some actual rain also has helped). I also sprayed those plants and the pumpkin plant with a mixture of lavender essential oil and water to see if that will chase away the stink bugs that have been taking up residence. Also planning to buy some marigolds to combat that problem.

I’m thinking of doing some rearranging in the Vegtrug. If I can do so without killing it, I’m going to try and move the pepper plant away from the remaining squash plant, which is encroaching on it big time. I also want to try planting some broccoli, spinach and more kale. Possibly some more carrots and arugula as well. Those plants are more Vegtrug-appropriate, I believe. I’m counting on a prolonged fall to allow them to develop so I can enjoy them before winter sets in.

Allergy Update

Eggs! I knew that at least one of my allergies would most likely be something I’ve eaten my whole life because of certain issues I’ve dealt with as long as I can remember. I was still pretty shocked to determine that one of the culprits was eggs though. Still hopeful I’ll be able to use them in baked goods, but they are no longer on my breakfast menu. Even more heart-breaking than that is a sensitivity to nitrites/nitrates. That means I have to be careful with bacon as well…

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

One response »

  1. I found some very delicious bacon at Safeway which did not have nitrites/nitrates in it. Spendy though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

