RSS Feed

Homemade Breakfast Sausage

So, among my newly discovered food sensitivities are MSG and nitrates, both of which are ubiquitous in even many “all-natural” products. I did find that the poultry counter at our Amish market has MSG-free sausage links, but I don’t care for it so much. The casings they use are rather slimy.

This week I decided to make my own sausage. I bought a pound of mixed white- and dark-meat ground turkey and did some recipe-searching yesterday. I settled on this one, though I was missing a couple of the ingredients (namely the white pepper and onion powder).

I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter. I didn’t miss the white pepper or onion powder in the final result. The seasoning is very reminiscent of that used in pork sausage, so if you choose to make your own using ground pork, I wouldn’t hesitate to use this spice combination. You wouldn’t need to add the olive oil to the ground pork though. Turkey tends to dry out, which is why adding the oil to the meat and herbs produces a good texture for the patties. I would also cook this sausage loose and add it to pasta sauce or other dishes.

About baysideresearch

I am a genealogist based on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I also like food and try to eat as locally and sustainably as possible. I have blogs about both!

4 responses »

  1. Nice idea. I make my own chorizo, just to ensure that I know what is in it. đŸ™‚ Our family has a country sausage recipe somewhere that has been handed down from the days when they butchered and processed their own pigs, steers, lamb, chicken and deer. That was in my father’s generation.

    Reply
    • Lee, if you’re willing to share, I’d love to see your chorizo recipe!

      Reply
      • Sure. It’s from Elena’s Secrets of Mexican Cooking. 3 oz. or 1/3 c. of this = one chorizo in a recipe.

        1 lb. pork (meat)
        1 t. salt
        2 T. chile powder
        1 clove garlic, mashed or pressed
        1 t. oregano leaves (rubbed between palms of hands), dried, I think
        2 T. vinegar

        Grind or chop meat, add all ingred., let sit several hours. If you are not going to cook it right away, store in the fridge or make into patties and freeze to have on hand.

Leave a Reply

